How to apply for US Visitor Visa (for Canadian Permanent Residents)

visitorvisa

If you’re currently a Canadian Permanent Resident, you need to apply for a visa in order to enter the US of A.

APPLICATION FORM + PHOTO:

*** There’s a lot of visa categories as per this website. Just keep in mind that you are there for leisure trip, therefore choose the B-2 VISITOR VISA. ***

APPLICATION: 1) Fill out the Online Non-immigrant Visa Application (DS-160) through this website, click here. Select “Location” first and then “Start the Application”. Voila! Start your application now. 2) Print the confirmation page to bring to your interview.

PHOTO*: 1) You need to upload a photo in your application in order to proceed with the form. I didn’t have any .jpg photo with me at the moment, so I used my iPhone and took the picture with a white background. (which went through!) 2) On the day of your interview, you need to bring 2 pieces of 2×2 photo, so make sure you have the proper photo for this. (No iPhone photos please!) 3) For photo requirements, click here.

*More photo info: I went to London Drugs and had mine taken there. I paid around $13 for 2 pieces of photos. (You can also go to Costco or Walmart). If you ever forget to bring one on the day of your interview, there’s a photo booth inside the embassy. Just make sure you arrive there earlier.

SCHEDULE AN INTERVIEW + PAYMENT

SCHEDULE AN INTERVIEW: 1) After completing the application, go to this website to schedule an interview and pay for the visa fee. 2) Print the receipt after you have completed the fee payment.

PAYMENT: The non-refundable visa fee is $160US = approx. $200CAD and you can pay it using your credit card (Visa and Mastercard). For more information about the payment methods, click here.

ON THE DAY OF…

THINGS TO BRING ON THE DAY OF THE INTERVIEW:
Show up at least 30 minutes early on your interview to have enough time to prepare.** If you are late and they already called the next set of interviewees, they would inform you to sign up for another interview date. No exemptions.

  • Passport (Needs to be valid for at least 6 months)
  • Canadian Permanent Resident Card (PR Card)
  • DS-160 confirmation page with bar code (step 1)
  • Two pieces of 2×2 photo. (step 1) – there’s a photo booth available inside their office, if you forgot to bring one.
  • Receipt of the visa fee payment (step 2)
  • Interview Schedule confirmation (step 2)
  • Extra Documents like: Driver’s license, pay stubs, work letter, etc.

**Side story: I was working on the day of my interview and asked my manager to let me leave early because of this. My interview time was 12:00 noon and I arrived in Downtown around 11:50 am with no parking spaces to be found. (I was on my panic + crying mode already, haha.) I found parking around 11:55 am, sprinted to the building and  was horrified to know that I needed to go through two security checks before I can enter the office (which can take up 10 minutes of your time). I was in the office 10 minutes after 12:00 noon, but thank goodness the “12:00 people” are still lining up and I was able to make it.  So please make sure you go there 30 minutes early!**

WHAT ARE THE INTERVIEW QUESTIONS?

INTERVIEW QUESTIONS:
People are often scared and clueless with the type of questions that they would get. Here are some of the question that was asked during my interview:

  • What’s the purpose of your trip?
  • When is the anticipated departure date?
  • How long will your stay be in the states?
  • Where are you staying in the states?
  • Do you have any relatives there?
  • What’s your Canadian status? (Permanent resident? Working Visa?)
  • What do you do in Canada? (Are you a student, working, or tourist?)
    • Next question they would ask is relevant to your answer above. As for me, I said that I was working as of the moment: Where do you work and how long have you worked there? What’s your position in the company?
  • Do you have any family in Canada? How many siblings do you have?
  • Have you ever been to the states before?
  • If this is not enough, here are more interview questions.

My interview lasted only 5 minutes, it was really quick and I was the last one being interviewed too. The interviewer would look at you once in a while, while he fills out some information in the computer. Make sure you do eye contact and just answer the questions honestly. From what I noticed too, answer them the shortest way you can because they can cut you off anytime and ask another question, which confused me. An example would be:

Interviewer: What’s the purpose of your trip?
Try not to answer them like this: Me and my friends are planning to have a mini reunion on California. We wanted to go to Disneyland and Universal Studios… blah blah blah.
Answer them like this: It would be leisure and sight seeing with friends and family in California.

Good luck! xx

Photo credits: cover, requirements photo

Leave a Reply

